Thanksgiving 2012

What a week we’ve had!

It was Drew’s birthday on Monday so I took the day off from work and we spent the day together goofing off and having fun.  We saw the movie Argo which I highly recommend if you haven’t seen yet – really amazing film and story.  It was nice to spend the day with the birthday boy :-)

My parents flew in on Wednesday to celebrate Thanksgiving with us.  My Mom had suggested that she wanted to have TG at our house, so I got busy on Pinterest (how did people plan parties/gatherings/anything without this tool?!) & started planning our day.  It was fun to plan and even more fun to watch everything come together!

The menu:

Apple cider sangria
Orient apple vodka cranberry
Apple pie

Mashed potatoes
Sweet potato casserole
Holiday salad (apples, pomegranate, almonds, green onions, goat cheese, dried cranberries with balsamic)
Deviled eggs
Veggie tray
Apples w/caramel dip
Pumpkin pie

Everything turned out really good!  Our neighbors joined us and it was a really lovely day filled with great company and too much food.  I used to be the most low-maintenance person ever when it came to entertaining, but this was a lot of fun.  My Mom made the pies & deviled eggs and my Dad made the mashed potatoes and everybody helped me with the rest and it was very enjoyable.  I was intimidated by the turkey but it turned out pretty flavorful and good – I’m glad to have my first turkey under my belt.

Friday, Drew & I celebrated FIVE years of marriage.  Hard to believe… Time flies when you’re having fun!  Drew planned a nice evening out for us & my parents.  He made reservations at Eiffel Tower Restaurant with a view of the Strip/Bellagio fountains.  He even got roses for the table and had petals scattered on the table.  My too-generous parents sneakily picked up the tab for our extravagant evening out… I guess they thought the wedding wasn’t expensive enough 5 years ago! ;-)  It was a nice way to celebrate the occasion.

Saturday, we gathered with the Purdue Alumni Club of Las Vegas to watch the rivalry game.  We had a good crowd of Boilermakers and only a few Hoosiers but it was a good time.  Where else can you watch the big game with the commander of the STS-34 space flight?! 

Luckily the Boilers were able to retain the bucket another year and earned bowl eligibility at the same time.

That evening, thanks to a girlfriend of mine, I had a treat for my folks.  We had amazing seats at Jersey Boys!  Such a great show and it was so fun to see it with them, because I could tell they really enjoyed it too.  I don’t remember if I wrote about it when Drew & I saw it in March, but the show is my favorite.  It is definitely worth seeing if you’re in town.

It would be hard to pick a highlight from the past week because we had such fun stuff going on.  I often pinch myself to see if I’m really living this spectacular life.  We have so much to be thankful for every single day!


Comments on: "Thanksgiving 2012" (1)

  1. I LOVE your mom’s sweet potato casserole! My fav!

    Also, jealous of you watching the game with a space commander! Can’t wait to see you all over Xmas! Love you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

